leadership cohorts leadership academy

katie bolzendahl

Katie Bolzendahl

james bullock headshot

James Bullock
Physics & Astronomy

vidyanand choudhary headshot

Vidyanand Choudhary
Merage School of Business

michelle digman headshot

Michelle Digman
Biomedical Engineering

ahmed eltawil headshot

Ahmed Eltawil
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

mark fiocco

Mark Fiocco

david fruman headshot

David Fruman
Molecular Biology & Biochemistry

Alison Holman

Alison Holman
Sue & Bill Gross School of Nursing

michelle khine

Michelle Khine
Biomedical Engineering

angela lukowski

Angela Lukowski
Psychology and Social Behavior

kate mackey

Kate Mackey
Earth System Science

carol major

Carol Major
Obstetrics and Gynecology

aditi majumder

Aditi Majumder
Computer Science

shaista malik

Shaista Malik
Medicine - Cardiology

nicole mitchell

Nicole Mitchell

jane page

Jane Page

tony smith

Tony Smith
Political Science

christopher schwarz

Chris Schwarz
Merage School of Business

bill tomlinson

Bill Tomlinson

kathleen treseder

Kathleen Treseder
Ecology & Evolutionary Biology

beth van es

Beth Van Es
School of Education

marcelo wood

Marcelo Wood
Neurobiology & Behavior

jing xia

Jing Xia
Physics & Astronomy

Program Members with NEW Leadership Roles

The following members have gained new leadership roles since taking part in the Academy.

  • James Bullock:
    • Dean, School of Physical Sciences, July 1, 2019- Present
    • Department Chair, Physics and Astronomy, School of Physical Sciences, July 1, 2017-June 30, 2019
  • Ahmed Eltawil:
    • Inaugural Director, The Master of Embedded and Cyber-Physical Systems (MECPS), Samueli School of Engineering, January 1, 2017-June 30, 2019 
  • Chris Schwarz:
    • Faculty Director, Center for Investment and Wealth Management, October 1, 2017- Present 
  • Kathleen Treseder:
    • Department Chair, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, School of Biological Sciences, July 1, 2017-December 31, 2018- Present
  • Beth Van Es:
    • Faculty Director, Teacher Preparation Programs July 2020-Present
    • Faculty Director, UCI Teacher Academy July 2020-Present 
    • Associate Dean, School of Education, July 1, 2017-June 30, 2020 
  • Shaista Malik:
    • Associate Vice Chancellor, Integrative Health, Executive Director of Susan Samueli Integrative Health Institute
  • Vidyanand Choudhary:
    • Senior Associate Dean, Merage School of Business, January 1, 2019- Present 
  • Catherine Bolzendahl:
    • Equity Advisor, School of Social Sciences, July 1, 2017- Present 
  • E. Alison Holman:
    • Director of the PhD Program, School of Nursing, January 1, 2017- Present 
    • DECADE mentor, School of Nursing, January 1, 2017- Present 
  • Bill Tomlinson:
    • Vice Chair, Department of Informatics, Bren School of ICS, October 1, 2018-Present
  • David Fruman:
    • Acting Director, UCI Cancer Research Institute, August 1, 2020-June 30, 2021 
    • Associate Director for Basic Science, UCI Chao Family Comprehensive Cancer Center, September 1,2020-Present  
    • Co-Director, Master’s Program in Biotechnology Management, July 1, 2020-Present  
    • Acting Director, GPS-STEM (Graduate Professional Success in STEM), September 1, 2019-Present
  • Michelle Digman:
    • Equity Advisor, HSSOE,  September 2017-Present 
    • co-Equity Advisor, Samueli School of Engineering, July 1, 2018- Present
    • Chair, Graduate Studies Committee, September 2020-September 2021 
    • BME Associate Chair, Graduate Affairs, September 2019-Present 
    • BME Graduate Advisor,  September 2019-Present 
    • Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee: Faculty Member for BME, 2020-Present
  • Marcelo Wood:
    • Chair, Department of Neurobiology & Behavior, June 2020-Present 
    • Director, UCI Center for Addiction Neuroscience, 2016-Present  
    • Director, NIDA T32 Training Program in Substance Use and Use Disorders, June 2020-Present 
  • Charles Anthony Smith:
    • Associate Dean, DCE, 2017-2019 
    • Chair, Council on Education Policy, 2019-2021