May 27, 2021

Dear colleagues,

We are delighted to announce the appointment of the inaugural cohort of five outstanding faculty members to serve as Inclusive Excellence Professors, supported by a grant for Advancing Faculty Diversity from the UC Office of the President (PIs: Professors Ilona Yim and Nina Bandelj).

The Inclusive Excellence Professors will work as advisors to the Associate Vice Provost for Faculty Development, Nina Bandelj, to organize and run faculty development activities. They will also serve in mentoring roles for faculty who participate in grant sponsored activities.

Sharon Block
Professor, History – School of Humanities

Tom Boellstorff
Professor, Anthropology – School of Social Sciences

Kevin Bradford
Associate Professor of Teaching – Paul Merage School of Business

Frances Leslie
Professor Emerita – School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

Regina Ragan
Professor, Materials Science and Engineering – Henry Samueli School of Engineering

If you would like to learn more about the Advancing Faculty Diversity grant and planned activities, please reach out to Nina Bandelj at or Ilona Yim at


Diane O’Dowd
Vice Provost, Academic Personnel
HHMI Professor, Developmental and Cell Biology