Nov 24, 2020

Dear colleagues,

On behalf of Chancellor Gillman, we are pleased to announce the formation of an advisory committee charged with assisting in the search for a new dean of the Sue & Bill Gross School of Nursing. The committee will evaluate nominees and make recommendations. The committee will be chaired by Bernadette Boden-Albala, Director and Founding Dean, Program in Public Health and Professor, Population Health and Disease Prevention and Epidemiology. The other members are:

  • Geoffrey Abbott, Senior Associate Dean, School of Medicine and Professor, Physiology & Biophysics
  • Kyriacos Athanasiou, Henry Samueli Chair in Engineering and Distinguished Professor, Biomedical Engineering
  • Scott Bartell, Associate Director for Faculty Affairs and Professor, Program in Public Health
  • Dawn Bounds, Assistant Professor, Sue & Bill Gross School of Nursing
  • Leanne Burke, Pre-Licensure Program Director and Associate Clinical Professor, Sue & Bill Gross School of Nursing
  • Alexandre Chan, Chair and Professor of Clinical Pharmacy, Clinical Pharmacy Practice
  • Sabrina Turallo Dela Roca, Undergraduate Student, Sue & Bill Gross School of Nursing
  • Michelle Fortier, Associate Professor, Sue & Bill Gross School of Nursing
  • E. Alison Holman, Professor, Sue & Bill Gross School of Nursing
  • Khanh-Van Le-Bucklin, Associate Vice Chancellor, Education and Health Sciences Clinical Professor, Pediatrics
  • Michelle McCoy, Director, Operations & Capital Projects, Susan and Henry College of Health Sciences
  • Jonathan McIntyre, Graduate Student, Sue & Bill Gross School of Nursing
  • Susanne Phillips, Associate Dean, Clinical Affairs and Clinical Professor, Sue & Bill Gross School of Nursing
  • Mara Rosalsky, Interim Chief Nursing Officer, UCI Health
  • Bryan Sykes, Associate Professor, Criminology, Law and Society
  • Sora Tanjasiri, Equity Advisor and Professor, Epidemiology

A national search will be conducted to identify the most qualified candidates for this position. We have engaged WittKieffer, a nationally recognized academic search consultant, to assist the committee, which will begin deliberations soon.

We welcome written input regarding the search process or potential candidates. All correspondence will be held in the strictest confidence and should be addressed to:
Sue & Bill Gross School of Nursing Dean Search Committee
In care of JiWon Kim, project administrator for Academic Affairs
Aldrich Hall 510, Mail Code 1000 Irvine, CA 92697-1000

We welcome your participation in this important recruitment.


Steve A.N. Goldstein, M.A., M.D., Ph.D., FAAP
Vice Chancellor of Health Affairs
Distinguished Professor, Pediatrics, Physiology & Biophysics and Pharmaceutical Sciences

Hal S. Stern, Ph.D.
Interim Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor
Chancellor’s Professor, Department of Statistics