Nov 24, 2020

Dear colleagues,

On behalf of Chancellor Gillman, I am pleased to share that nine UCI researchers have been named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. It is my honor to recognize these exceptional scholars for their accomplishments, which have significantly contributed to a broad range of fields. With this year’s cohort, UCI now has 185 AAAS fellows.

Below are the new fellows from UCI and the AAAS citation for each:

  • Alan Goldin, Professor, Microbiology & Molecular Genetics – for distinguished contributions in understanding the function of sodium channels and their role in seizure susceptibility, and for promoting the development of physician-scientists.
  • Steve Goldstein, Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs and Distinguished Professor, Pediatrics, Physiology & Biophysics and Pharmaceutical Sciences – for making outstanding contributions to the basic understanding of ion channels and their function, and for striving to create structural support and integration for biomedical science education and training.
  • Travis Huxman, Professor, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology – for distinguished contributions to the field of physiological plant ecology, particularly functional trait evolution and influence in ecosystems under global change.
  • Thomas Lane, Chancellor’s Professor, Neurobiology & Behavior – for distinguished research and service in the field of neurodegenerative disease, including multiple sclerosis, and in spinal cord repair.
  • Jennifer Martiny, Professor, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology – for distinguished contributions to the fields of environmental microbiology and microbiome research, particularly using the study of microbial populations to understand climate change.
  • Oladele Ogunseitan, University of California Presidential Chair and Professor, Population Health and Disease Prevention in the Program in Public Health – for distinguished contributions in studies using fundamental science to inform impacts of toxic components in manufacturing on human and environmental health.
  • Christopher Vanderwal, Professor, Chemistry and Pharmaceutical Sciences – for distinguished contributions to the field of organic chemistry, particularly for efficient chemical synthesis of bioactive alkaloids and chlorinated natural products.
  • Jack Xin, Chancellor’s Professor, Mathematics – for outstanding contributions to research in applied mathematics and data science.
  • Clare Yu, Professor, Physics & Astronomy – for contributions across condensed matter and biological physics, with special emphasis on disordered systems, intracellular transport, the physics of cancer and quantum computing.

A virtual induction ceremony for the new fellows will be held in February 2021. Each will receive an official certificate and a gold-and-blue rosette pin to commemorate their election.

Please join me in congratulating our colleagues on this achievement.


Hal S. Stern, Ph.D.
Interim Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor
Chancellor’s Professor, Department of Statistics