Oct 14, 2020

Dear colleagues,

On behalf of Chancellor Gillman, I am pleased to announce the formation of an advisory committee charged with assisting in the search for a new dean of the School of Social Ecology. The committee will evaluate nominees and make recommendations. The committee will be chaired by Elizabeth Cauffman, Professor, Psychological Science. The other members are:

  • Jennifer Aaron, Associate Vice Provost and Chief of Staff, Office of the Vice Provost for Teaching & Learning
  • Teresa Dalton, Associate Professor of Teaching, Criminology, Law and Society
  • Kelli Dickerson, Graduate Student, School of Social Ecology
  • Martha Feldman, Professor and Johnson Chair for Civic Governance & Public Management, Urban Planning and Public Policy
  • Jae Hong Kim, Associate Professor, Urban Planning and Public Policy
  • Isabelle Lee, Undergraduate Student, School of Social Ecology
  • Michael Lee, Professor, Cognitive Sciences
  • Mona Lynch, Professor and Chair, Criminology, Law and Society
  • Bill Maurer, Dean, School of Social Sciences and Professor, Anthropology
  • Walter Nicholls, Associate Professor, Urban Planning and Public Policy
  • Candice Odgers, Professor, Psychological Science
  • Oladele Ogunseitan, Professor and UC Presidential Chair, Public Health
  • Emily Owens, Professor, Criminology, Law and Society
  • Julian Thayer, Distinguished Professor, Psychological Science
  • Ilona Yim, Professor and Equity Advisor, Psychological Science

A national search will be conducted to identify the most qualified candidates for this position. We have engaged Spencer Stuart, a nationally recognized academic search consultant, to assist the committee, which will begin deliberations soon.

All correspondence will be held in the strictest confidence and should be addressed to:

School of Social Ecology Dean Search Committee
In care of JiWon Kim, project administrator for Academic Affairs
Aldrich Hall 510, Mail Code 1000
Irvine, CA 92697-1000

We welcome your participation in this important recruitment.


Hal S. Stern, Ph.D.
Interim Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor
Chancellor’s Professor, Department of Statistics