Jul 29, 2020

Dear colleagues,

On behalf of Chancellor Gillman, I am pleased to announce the formation of an advisory committee charged with assisting in the search for a new dean of the Samueli School of Engineering. The committee will evaluate nominees and make recommendations. The committee will be chaired by Faryar Jabbari, Senior Associate Dean of Academic Affairs and Professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering. The other members are:

  • Rebecca Avila, Assistant Dean, School of Social Sciences
  • Ellen Druffel, Distinguished Professor and Fred Kavli Chair in Earth System Science
  • Timothy Downing, Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering
  • David Feldman, Director, Water UCI and Professor, Urban Planning and Public Policy
  • Tryphon Georgiou, Distinguished Professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
  • Chloe Groome, Graduate Student, Materials Science and Engineering
  • Michelle Khine, Professor, Biomedical Engineering
  • Athina Markopoulou, Professor, Chancellor’s Fellow and Nicolaos G. and Sue Curtis Alexopoulos Presidential Chair in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • Ali Mohraz, Professor, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Xiaoqing Pan, Director, Irvine Materials Research Institute, Henry Samueli Endowed Chair in Engineering, and Professor, Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, and Physics and Astronomy
  • Jonathan Louis Palafoutas, Undergraduate Student, Samueli School of Engineering
  • Marios Papaefthymiou, Ted and Janice Smith Family Foundation Endowed Chair, Dean and Professor, Donald Bren School of Information and Computer Sciences
  • Regina Ragan, Professor, Materials Science and Engineering
  • Brett Sanders, Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Vasan Venugopalan, Professor and Chair, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Mark Walter, Professor of Teaching, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
  • H. Kumar Wickramasinghe, Distinguished Professor and Henry Samueli Endowed Chair, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

We will conduct a national search to identify the most qualified candidates for this position. We have engaged Isaacson, Miller, a nationally recognized academic search consultant, to assist the committee, which will begin deliberations soon.

All correspondence will be held in the strictest confidence and should be addressed to:

Samueli School of Engineering Dean Search Committee
In care of JiWon Kim, project administrator for Academic Affairs
Aldrich Hall 510, Mail Code 1000
Irvine, CA 92697-1000

We welcome your participation in this important recruitment.


Hal S. Stern, Ph.D.
Interim Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor
Chancellor’s Professor, Department of Statistics