Apr 30, 2020

Dear colleagues,

We are pleased to announce that Ellen Druffel, Distinguished Professor and Fred Kavli Chair in Earth System Science, has been elected to the prestigious National Academy of Sciences. She is one of 146 scientists from around the world being recognized this year for their outstanding and continuing achievements in original research. Professor Druffel explores the carbon cycle in the oceans and how humanity’s burning of fossil fuels and biomass affects that cycle.

Professor Druffel is among the most accomplished scholars in her field and her election to the National Academy of Sciences is a tremendous achievement. Her success is part of UCI's legacy in Earth System Science, a department that was the first in the United States dedicated to interdisciplinary climate and environmental research. Following an example set by the founding chair, Ralph Cicerone, Professor Druffel helped to build the Earth System Science department into what it is today.

This accomplishment illustrates the academic excellence of UCI's faculty which now includes 24 members of the National Academy of Sciences; five members of the National Academy of Medicine; 14 members of the National Academy of Engineering; 34 members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences; 10 members of the National Academy of Inventors; and five members of the National Academy of Education.

On behalf of Chancellor Gillman, please join us in congratulating Professor Druffel on this exceptional achievement.


Hal S. Stern, Ph.D.
Interim Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor
Chancellor's Professor, Department of Statistics

James Bullock
Dean, School of Physical Sciences
Professor, Department of Physics & Astronomy