Dec 12, 2019

Dear Campus Community,

As our fall quarter winds down, I am honored to announce two different groups of distinguished scholars. The first group contains the winners of the 2019-20 Public Impact Fellowship competition. This program was developed to support and highlight academically excellent students whose research demonstrates the potential to significantly improve or enrich the lives of people in California and beyond.

This year’s fellows are:

Public Impact Distinguished Fellows

  • Ying Xu, Education
  • Samantha Garcia, Public Health
  • Sanjana Sen, Molecular Biology and Chemistry
  • Margaret Lugin, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Public Impact Fellows

  • Nicole Stivers, Environmental Health Sciences
  • Christopher Toh, Biomedical Engineering
  • Jessica Cabrera, Sociology
  • Kerrigan Blake, Mathematical, Computational and Systems Biology
  • Benjamin Leffel, Sociology
  • Chandra Middleton, Anthropology
  • Yan Li, Biomedical Engineering
  • Mary Ryan, Statistics
  • Valerie Pham, Nursing Science
  • Gray Abarca, Anthropology

The second group I’d like to recognize are the awardees for the 2020 Chancellor’s Club Fund for Excellence Fellowships. The pool of nominees was very strong, and awardees were selected on the basis of demonstrated academic excellence, accomplishments, and leadership qualities consistent with the mission of the Chancellor’s Club to represent, develop, and support our future leaders. Graduate students selected for these fellowships must also be first-generation college students.

The 2020 Chancellor’s Club Fellows are as follows:

  • Reza Mohammadi, Materials Science & Engineering
  • Amanda Petersen, Criminology, Law and Society
  • Megan Ringel, Pyschological Science

Information about these students and their research will be posted on the Graduate Division website in the coming weeks.

Congratulations again to all!


Gillian R. Hayes
Vice Provost of Graduate Education
Dean of the Graduate Division