Sep 28, 2021

Dear colleagues,

On behalf of Chancellor Gillman, I am pleased to announce the formation of an advisory committee charged with assisting in the search for a new dean of the Claire Trevor School of the Arts. The committee will evaluate nominees and make recommendations. The committee will be chaired by Stephen Tucker, Professor and Robert and Marjorie Rawlins Chair in Music, and department chair for music.

The other members are:

  • James S. Bullock, Dean, School of Physical Sciences and Professor, Physics and Astronomy
  • Feyintoluwa Ekisola, Graduate Student, Drama
  • Jennifer Fisher, Professor, Dance
  • Jesse Jackson, Associate Professor, Art and Associate Dean for Research & Innovation
  • Mari Kimura, Professor, Music
  • Antoinette LaFarge, Professor, Art
  • Daphne Lei, Professor, Drama
  • Julia Lupton, Professor, English and Associate Dean for Research
  • Molly Lynch, Professor and Chair, Dance
  • Matthew Nelson, Undergraduate Student, Music
  • Jennifer Pastor, Professor, Art
  • Penny Portillo, Assistant Dean, School of Humanities
  • Kelli Sharp, Assistant Professor, Dance
  • Jaymi Smith, Professor, Drama and Associate Dean for Student Success, Graduate Division
  • Darryl Taylor, Professor, Music and Equity Advisor
  • Bill Tomlinson, Professor, Informatics
  • Joel Veenstra, Associate Professor of Teaching, Drama

A national search will be conducted to identify the most qualified candidates for this position. We have engaged WittKieffer, a nationally recognized academic search consultant, to assist the committee, which will begin deliberations soon.

All correspondence will be held in the strictest confidence and should be addressed to:

Claire Trevor School of the Arts Dean Search Committee
In care of JiWon Kim, project administrator for Academic Affairs
Aldrich Hall 510, Mail Code 1000
Irvine, CA 92697-1000

We welcome your participation in this important recruitment.


Hal Stern
Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor
Chancellor’s Professor, Department of Statistics