Apr 13, 2020

Dear Colleagues,

I am pleased to announce the recipients of this year’s awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching. Normally we honor these individuals at the Annual Celebration of Teaching, but we have to postpone the event until campus is open and operating normally. So please join me in congratulating them virtually!
There are two categories of awards presented, the first of which is the Campus Wide Awards. Recipients are selected by members of the Academic Senate Council on Teaching, Learning, and Student Experience and members of the groups providing the monetary awards. Selections are based on campus wide nominations from peers, colleagues, and students. The recipients of these awards are listed below.

The second category of awards are for those selected by their Deans as Deans’ Honorees for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.

Dr. De Gallow Professor of the Year: Emily Baum (School of Humanities)

Lecturer of the Year: Grace McLaughlin (Paul Merage School of Business)

Excellence in Pedagogical Development Award: Christine King (The Henry Samueli School of Engineering)

Excellence in Digital Learning Award: Phil Collins (School of Physical Sciences)

Most Promising Future Faculty Member (Monetary Award): Diane Hsieh (School of Education) and Alexander Bower (School of Social Sciences)

Most Promising Future Faculty Member (Honorary Award): Mary Anne Mendoza (School of Social Sciences)

Dean’s Honoree’s
Sanghyuk Shin & Susanne Phillips (Sue and Bill Gross School of Nursing)
Jinfei Sheng (Paul Merage School of Business)
Steve Mang (School of Physical Sciences)
Judith Sandholtz (School of Education)
Bert Winther-Tamaki (School of Humanities)
Zeba Wunderlich (School of Biological Sciences)
Joel Lanning (The Henry Samueli School of Engineering)
Daniel Parker (Program in Public Health)
Jenny Rinehart (School of Social Ecology)
Matthew Beckman (School of Social Sciences)
Rebecca Black (Donald Bren School of Information and Computer Science)
Marcy Froelich (Claire Trevor School of the Arts)

Michael Dennin
Vice Provost for Teaching and Learning
Dean, Division of Undergraduate Education