Mar 2, 2020

Dear colleagues,

On behalf of Chancellor Gillman and the entire campus leadership, I would like to recognize and thank all employees for their contributions to a smooth and successful implementation of UCPath at UCI and UCI Health. As the largest administrative project in the UC’s history, the transition to UCPath touched every department, every unit and every employee.

Many teams and individuals dedicated long hours to prepare employee data, establish new business processes and workflows, attend training and collaborate with the project team and representatives from academic and administrative groups across campus and the medical center.

Our UCPath project team did a phenomenal job leading this project in collaboration with many workgroups throughout UCI and the medical center. Among the guidance, feedback and support from all areas, below are a few examples of support roles that helped ensure a successful implementation, including:

  • Payroll, HR and IT personnel in dean’s offices, administrative units and UCI Health provided overall support and participated in testing and training
  • Staff who support teaching assistants, graduate student researchers and other student workers distributed materials and coordinated communications and social media campaigns to reach these specific groups
  • OIT teams were instrumental in providing critical services and support during implementation and cutover
  • Subject matter experts across all areas who helped develop and conduct employee training

With UCPath now live, we have new processes in place for everything from hiring and benefits to compensation and payroll, and many more. I appreciate the teamwork and contributions of all employees involved.

As a systemwide program to align HR and payroll processes across all UC locations, launching UCPath is a significant milestone for UCI. While operationalizing the system will require sustained effort and focus in the coming months, we have great momentum following such a strong launch.


Enrique J. Lavernia, Ph.D.
Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor
Distinguished Professor, Department of Materials Science and Engineering