UCI Office of the Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor

Seven Faculty Honored as AAAS Fellows

Dear colleagues,

Congratulations to the seven faculty members who have been named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. It gives me great pride to recognize these innovative scholars for their remarkable accomplishments, which have significantly contributed to a broad array of fields and helped change the way we understand the world.

Below are the new fellows from UCI and the AAAS citation for each:

  • Carter Butts, Professor of Sociology, for distinguished contributions to the modeling of relational structure and dynamics in humans and nonhumans, alone and in groups, using mathematical, computational and statistical approaches.
  • John Chaput, Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences, for distinguished contributions to the field of chemical biology, particularly for the development of engineered polymerases that enable the evolution of artificial genetic polymers.
  • Leo Chavez, Professor of Anthropology, for distinguished contributions to the field of medical anthropology, human migration, and applied and public policy anthropology, particularly in regards to Mexican-origin populations of the United States.
  • Zachary Fisk, Professor Emeritus in Physics & Astronomy, for pioneering scientific discoveries regarding the magnetic and transport properties of important magnetic and superconducting materials, including heavy fermion compounds and high-temperature superconducting cuprates.
  • Fillmore Freeman, Professor of Chemistry, for distinguished contributions to the fields of computational quantum chemistry, heteroatom chemistry, oxidation chemistry and reaction mechanisms.
  • Pramod Khargonekar, Vice Chancellor for Research and Distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science, for contributions to systems and control theory, applications to manufacturing and energy, and leadership in engineering research, education and innovation.
  • Stephen White, Professor Emeritus of Physiology & Biophysics, for distinguished contributions to the understanding of cell membrane biophysics, particularly the structure of membranes, lipid bilayers and membrane proteins.

With this year’s cohort, UCI has 167 AAAS fellows and remains among the top AAU institutions with active AAAS fellow faculty. Please join me in congratulating these exceptional faculty members on this outstanding achievement. Our university is enriched by their admirable passion and scholarship.


Enrique J. Lavernia, Ph.D.
Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor
Distinguished Professor,
Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Go to Top