Search for founding dean, proposed School of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences

Dear colleagues,

We are pleased to announce the formation of a search committee charged with assisting us in appointing a founding dean of the proposed School of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences. A national search will be conducted to identify outstanding candidates with exemplary administrative and academic leadership experience who are distinguished scholars and capable of leading the school’s academic enterprise. The committee will be chaired by Geoffrey Abbott, professor of physiology & biophysics and chair of the Susan and Henry Samueli College of Health Sciences Executive Committee. Other panel members are:

  • A. Richard Chamberlin, professor emeritus and chair, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Olivier Civelli, professor and chair, Department of Pharmacology
  • Karen Edwards, professor and chair, Department of Epidemiology
  • Lisa Flanagan, associate professor, Department of Neurology
  • Celia Goulding, professor, Department of Molecular Biology & Biochemistry and Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Melanie Joe, chief pharmacy officer, UC Irvine Medical Center
  • Zhigang David Luo, professor, Department of Anesthesiology & Perioperative Care
  • Andrej Luptak, associate professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Terrance Mayes, associate vice chancellor for diversity & inclusion, Susan and Henry Samueli College of Health Sciences
  • Adeline Nyamathi, founding dean, Sue & Bill Gross School of Nursing
  • Lisa Rehbaum, assistant dean, School of Law

We have engaged the services of Shelli Herman & Associates to assist the committee, which will begin deliberations soon.

The panel welcomes written input regarding the search process or potential candidates. Individuals are strongly encouraged to nominate qualified candidates for consideration. Interested UCI faculty are also encouraged to apply. The committee will hold all correspondence in the strictest confidence. Written comments or nominations should be addressed to:

Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences Founding Dean Search Committee
In care of Rachel Pearlman, Academic Affairs Specialist
Susan and Henry Samueli College of Health Sciences
Irvine Hall 252, Mail Code 3950
Irvine, CA 92697-3950

We welcome your participation in this important recruitment.


Enrique J. Lavernia, Ph.D.
Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor
Distinguished Professor,
Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Alan L. Goldin, M.D., Ph.D.
Interim Vice Chancellor 
Susan and Henry Samueli College of Health Sciences

Go to Top