UCI Office of the Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor

Two Faculty Members Elected to National Academy of Engineering

Dear colleagues:

I am pleased to announce that two UCI faculty members have been elected to the National Academy of Engineering, one of the highest distinctions for those in engineering and technical fields:

  • Judith S. Olson, Donald Bren Professor Emeritus of Information & Computer Sciences, for leadership, technical innovations and development of systems that support collaborative work at a distance
  • Efi Foufoula-Georgiou, Distinguished Professor of Civil & Environmental Engineering, for contributions to hydrology and hydroclimatology with applications to engineered systems across scales

The success of our academic enterprise is singularly dependent on the quality of our faculty. With the election of these two outstanding faculty members to the National Academy of Engineering, UCI is now home to 76 members of the esteemed National Academies of Sciences, Engineering & Medicine and American Academy of Arts & Sciences.

Please join me and Chancellor Gillman in congratulating these extraordinary faculty members on their terrific professional achievements.


Enrique J. Lavernia, Ph.D.
Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor
Distinguished Professor,
Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Go to Top