UCI Office of the Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor

10 faculty honored as AAAS fellows

Dear colleagues:

Today we celebrate 10 UCI faculty members who have been named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. I am thrilled to recognize these exceptional individuals for their tremendous accomplishments, which have greatly contributed to their specific fields and have changed the way we understand the world.

Below are the new fellows from UCI and the AAAS citation for each:

  • Christopher Barty, professor of physics & astronomy: For foundational contributions to the development of ultrahigh-intensity lasers and their applications, and for leadership in organizing and advancing the international high-intensity laser research community.
  • Suzanne Blum, associate professor of chemistry: For distinguished contributions to the field of molecular chemistry, particularly for studies of interactions and transformation of molecules in chemical reactions and for development of fluorescence microscopy tools to conduct research.
  • Adriana Briscoe, professor of ecology & evolutionary biology: For distinguished contributions to the field of molecular evolution, particularly for using functional approaches to study light-sensitive pigments in color vision and their related behaviors.
  • Kieron Burke, professor of chemistry: For fundamental development of computational modeling methods used in physics, chemistry and materials science to investigate the structures of atoms and molecules, and for outstanding efforts in explaining the theory to a broad scientific audience.
  • David Eppstein, Chancellor’s Professor of computer science: For distinguished contributions to the design and analysis of algorithms, particularly for computational geometry, graph theory and graph drawing.
  • Efi Foufoula-Georgiou, Distinguished Professor of civil & environmental engineering: For influential contributions to the field of surface hydrology (the study of complex water systems) and hydroclimatology, and for unselfish leadership in promoting Earth sciences.
  • Kenneth Janda, dean of the School of Physical Sciences and professor of chemistry: For work in understanding intramolecular forces, such as covalent bonds that hold atoms together in molecules.
  • Craig Stark, professor of neurobiology & behavior: For distinguished contributions to the field of neuroscience, particularly for the study of memory and the communication of this work to the public.
  • Lizhi Sun, professor of civil & environmental engineering: For distinguished contributions to the field of continuum mechanics, the analysis of the behavior of materials modeled as a continuous mass rather than as discrete particles, and for conducting innovative work in composite materials.
  • Kathleen Treseder, the Francisco J. Ayala Chair in Ecology & Evolutionary Biology: For distinguished contributions to the field of ecosystem ecology, particularly for developing novel techniques and theories to link processes from the molecule to the globe.

Please join me in congratulating these extraordinary faculty members on their professional achievements. This year’s cohort brings the total number of UCI AAAS fellows to 160. Our university is enriched by their profound passion and influential scholarship.


Enrique J. Lavernia, Ph.D.
Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor
Distinguished Professor,
Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Go to Top