Search for Dean, School of Medicine

Dear colleagues,

We are pleased to announce the formation of a search committee charged with assisting us in appointing a new dean for the School of Medicine. A national search will be conducted to identify outstanding candidates with exemplary administrative and academic leadership experience who are distinguished scholars and capable of leading the school’s academic enterprise. The committee will be chaired by Leslie Thompson, professor of psychiatry & human behavior and neurobiology & behavior. Other committee members are:

  • Aileen Anderson, professor, Department of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
  • Tallie Z. Baram, professor, Department of Pediatrics
  • Michael D. Cahalan, Distinguished Professor and chair, Department of Physiology & Biophysics
  • Hazem Chehabi, medical director, Newport Diagnostic Center
  • Bernard Choi, associate professor, Department of Surgery and Department of Biomedical Engineering
  • Scott Engwall, professor and interim chair, Department of Anesthesiology & Perioperative Care
  • Lorraine Evangelista, professor, Program in Nursing Science
  • Christine Gall, professor and interim chair, Department of Anatomy & Neurobiology
  • J. Jay Gargus, professor, Department of Physiology & Biophysics
  • Douglas Haynes, vice provost, Academic Equity, Diversity & Inclusion
  • Jaime Landman, professor and chair, Department of Urology
  • Khanh-Van Le-Bucklin, health sciences clinical professor and interim chair, Department of Pediatrics
  • Bert Semler, professor, Department of Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
  • Eric Spangenberg, dean, Paul Merage School of Business
  • Charles Vega, health sciences clinical professor, Department of Family Medicine

The committee welcomes written input regarding the search process or potential candidates. Individuals are strongly encouraged to nominate qualified candidates for the panel’s consideration. Interested UCI faculty are also encouraged to apply. The committee will hold all correspondence in the strictest confidence throughout its deliberations. Written comments or nominations should be addressed to:

Medicine Dean Search Committee
In care of JiWon Kim, project administrator for academic affairs
Aldrich Hall 509, Mail Code 1000
Irvine, CA 92697-1000

Nominations and applications will be reviewed by the committee as they are submitted, and the position will remain open until it is filled.
We welcome your participation in this important recruitment.


Enrique J. Lavernia, Ph.D.
Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor
Distinguished Professor,
Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Howard J. Federoff, M.D., Ph.D.
Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs
CEO, UC Irvine Health

Go to Top