Search for Dean, Claire Trevor School of the Arts

Dear Colleagues,

I am pleased to announce the formation of a search committee to assist in the recruitment of a dean for the Claire Trevor School of the Arts. The committee is charged with finding outstanding candidates with exemplary administrative and academic leadership experience who are distinguished scholars and capable of leading the academic enterprise of the school. The committee will be chaired by Lisa M. Naugle, professor and chair, Department of Dance. Other committee members include:

  • Gary Busby, associate professor and chair, Department of Drama
  • Don Hill, senior lecturer security of employment, Department of Drama
  • Peter Krapp, professor and chair, Department of Film and Media Studies
  • Julia Lupton, director of Illuminations; professor, Department of English
  • Daniel Joseph Martinez, chancellor’s professor, Department of Art
  • Nicole Mitchell, professor and equity advisor, Department of Music
  • Greg Reinhard, assistant dean, School of Social Ecology
  • Iphigenia Seong, undergraduate student; ASUCI Campus Climate Commissioner
  • David Trend, professor and chair, Department of Art
  • Stephen Tucker, associate professor, Department of Music
  • Georges Van Den Abbeele, dean, School of Humanities

The committee will begin its deliberations soon. We welcome written input regarding the search process or potential candidates. All correspondence will be held in the strictest confidence. Written comments or nominations should be addressed to:

Claire Trevor School of the Arts Dean Search Committee
In Care of Jiwon Kim, project administrator for academic affairs
Aldrich Hall 509, Mail Code 1000
Irvine, CA 92697-1000

Nominations and applications will be reviewed by the committee as they are submitted, and the position will remain open until it is filled.


Enrique J. Lavernia, Ph.D.
Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor
Distinguished Professor,
Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Go to Top